National Cancer Institute
National Cancer Institute U.S. National Institutes of Health

Investigational Drug Steering Committee

The NCI Investigational Drug Steering Committee (IDSC) was established in November 2005. The IDSC is composed of the Steering Committee, ten task forces, and three working groups. Members of the IDSC include the principal investigators of NCI's early drug development grants and contracts, representatives from the Cooperative Groups, a patient advocate, biostatisticians, and NCI staff.

Mission Statement

The IDSC provides NCI with broad external scientific and clinical input on the design and prioritization of phase I and phase II trials with agents for which Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program (CTEP) holds an Investigational New Drug (IND) application. The IDSC aims to increase the predictive value of early phase trials, resulting in the design of more successful phase III trials.

Roster of Investigational Drug Steering Committee (IDSC) members
Lillian Siu, M.D., and Amit Oza, M.D., Co-chairs

Task Forces

  • Biomarkers: Janet Dancey, M.D., Chair
  • Clinical Trial Design: Mark Ratain, M.D., Chair
  • Immunotherapy: Jedd Wolchok, M.D., Ph.D. and Thomas Gajewski, M.D., Co-chairs
  • Pharmacology: Jan H. Beumer, Ph.D. and Michelle Rudek, M.D., Co-chairs

Public Summaries:


IDSC Publications:

NCI Communications:

  • A clinical development plan is prepared when NCI decides to study an investigational agent. The plan describes the drug's mechanism of action, disease(s) being targeted, patient characteristics, dose and schedule of the drug, phase(s) of the trial and whether single agent, combination, or additional preclinical studies are sought. The IDSC provides input into Clinical Trials Evaluation Program's (CTEP) clinical development plans. For additional information please see

CCCT Contact: Steven Reeves, Ph.D.